Psalm 23 – A New Translation

[A psalm of David]

God as Shepherd (vv.1-4)

Yhwh is my shepherd; I do not lack

He causes me to lie down in grassy pastures.

By restful waters he guides me

He restores my life

He guides me in right tracks

For his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the darkest canyon,

I do not fear disaster.

Because you are with me; your rod and your staff –

They comfort me.

God as Shepherd/Host (vv. 5-6)

    You set out before me a table

    In the face of my enemies

    You moisten/bathe my head with oil,

    My cup amply satisfies.

    Certainly goodness and covenant-faithfulness

    Shall pursue me all the days of my life

    And I shall return to dwell

In the house of Yhwh for length of days.

This is a working translation from a recent study of mine on Psalm 23.  Feel free to leave comments or questions.  I should note, there are influences from translations by John Goldingay and Robert Alter.

See:

Alter, Robert. The Book of Psalms: a Translation with Commentary. New York, W.W. Norton Company, 2007: pp. 78-79.

Goldingay, John. Psalms Volume 1: Psalms 1-41. Baker Commentary on the Old Testament Wisdom and Psalms. Ed. Tremper Longman III., Grand Rapids, MI, Baker Academic, 2006: pp. 344ff.

2 thoughts on “Psalm 23 – A New Translation

Leave a comment