Values

One area that has changed over the past 4 1/2 years for me is my view of mental health — mainly, that I now hold a view.  As a strong advocate of mental health awareness and treatment I will write about it frequently here.

My Top 10 Values

My Top 10 Values

What I would like to share today is something that was born out of my own experience in a mental health care setting. I have worked with a number of psychologists, counselors and therapists over the course of the past five years — both good and bad.  Recently, I was presented with an opportunity to reflect on my personal values in a session.  An easy task you might say, however, it proved to be anything but.  It proved difficult for me in a number of ways.  First, I don’t believe that I had ever consciously sat down to think about what my values are.  Sure, we all have values, maybe we can name a few off the top of our head — family, friends, justice, etc.  But, what if you had to name your top 10?  It sounds easy enough. Now, imagine your friend or therapist hands you a stack of 50-75 cards with one value on each and asks you to sort them into three columns in order of importance to you.

Here is a sample list of common personal values (this is not the same list that I was given):

Accomplishment, SuccessAccountabilityAccuracy

Adventure

All for one & one for all

Beauty

Calm, quietude, peace

Challenge

Change

Charity

Cleanliness, orderliness

Collaboration

Commitment

Communication

Community

Competence

Competition

Concern for others

Connection

Content over form

Continuous improvement

Cooperation

Coordination

Creativity

Customer satisfaction

Decisiveness

Determination

Delight of being, joy

Democracy

Discipline

Discovery

Diversity

Dynamism

Ease of Use

Efficiency

Enjoyment

Equality

Excellence

Fairness

Faith

Faithfulness

Family

Family feeling

Flair

Freedom, Liberty

FriendshipFunGenerosity

Gentleness

Global view

Goodwill

Goodness

Gratitude

Hard work

Happiness

Harmony

Health

Honor

Human-centered

Improvement

Independence

Individuality

Inner peace, calm, quietude

Innovation

Integrity

Intelligence

Intensity

Justice

Kindness

Knowledge

Leadership

Love, Romance

Loyalty

Maximum utilization

(of time, resources)

Meaning

Merit

Money

Oneness

Openness

Other’s point of view, inputs

Patriotism

Peace, Non-violence

Perfection

Personal Growth

Perseverance

Pleasure

Power

Practicality

Preservation

PrivacyProgressProsperity, Wealth

Punctuality

Quality of work

Regularity

Reliability

Resourcefulness

Respect for others

Responsiveness

Results-oriented

Rule of Law

Safety

Satisfying others

Security

Self-givingness

Self-reliance

Self-thinking

Sensitivity

Service

(to others, society)

Simplicity

Skill

Solving Problems

Speed

Spirit, Spirituality in life

Stability

Standardization

Status

Strength

Succeed; A will to-

Success, Achievement

Systemization

Teamwork

Timeliness

Tolerance

Tradition

Tranquility

Trust

Truth

Unity

Variety

Well-being

Wisdom

From there, you are asked to order each column top-to-bottom in order of importance. Now, remove one column altogether.  Next, remove one more column.  With your last column, arrange your remaining values in order of importance.  You may pull some values from your discard pile if you have changed your mind.  Finally, reduce your column to 10 and now you should have your top 10 values.  After about 20 minutes, I had narrowed my own list to 10.  Here is my result:

My Top 10 Personal Values:

1. Purpose

2. Passion

3. Family

4. Spirituality

5. Ecology

6. Justice

7. Hope

8. Compassion

9. Humility

10. Genuineness

Of course these values are not static but dynamic for me.  Most likely these will remain in my top 10, but they may shift their order from time to time.  I keep  the list, as written by my therapist, on a sheet of notebook paper.  I review it several times a week.  In the review process, I am reflecting on the ways in which I held to my values, the times I may have strayed, and the times I felt conflicted in terms of my values.  This weekly reflection has helped to keep me grounded in my values, but also helped me to learn a great deal about myself and my interactions with others and the world around me.  I am better able to discern how my values influence my day-to-day activities, but I also can see where I need to improve my adherence to them.  In the conscious reflection upon my values I am able to make them more fully my own — it is a practice I will continue the rest of my life.

What are your top 10 values?  What is your value of the week?  What is your value of the day?

 

Leave a comment